Monday, June 2, 2008

Triumph of the underdog -IPL 2008

IPL- 2008: Despite its share of controversies and the heady mix of glamour and cricket, the Indian Premier League's first edition would be best remembered for the triumph of the underdog wherein a retired spin legend inspired the cheapest franchisee of the event to an unexpected title win.

Shane Warne, considered by many as the best captain never to lead Australia, led a pack of unheralded players to a Rs 4.8 crore prize cheque.

Shaun Marsh, son of Australian great Geoff Marsh, became the most successful batsman of the tournament and the left-hander was the undisputed choice for the Orange Cap, meant for the event's highest run-getter, with 616 runs.

Sohail Tanvir (left) -- the wrong-footed pacer from Pakistan -- competed with the likes of Glenn McGrath and Muttiah Muralitharan to take the purple cap for the top wicket-taker with 22 wickets.

Australia's Shane Watson, who played a key role in Rajasthan Royal's title triumph, was declared the man of the tournament with 474 runs, including four half centuries, and 17 wickets.

There is no Indian, what you think!!!.

No comments: